Autosave in JupyterLab

When you stop a JupyterLab notebook, an automatic check looks for any work that has not been pushed to the remote repository, including untracked and modified files. If something is found, a new “autosave” branch is created and pushed to GitLab.

Note

You cannot start a notebook server from these branches but you can still see them listed in GitLab. You can easily identify them because their name starts with renku/autosave/

Restore unsaved work

The next time you start a new JupyterLab server from the same branch/commit combination, you will be notified and the autosaved data will be automatically loaded in your session. Please note that nothing will be pushed automatically to the origin, therefore you won’t see any changes in your project’s files in Renku, nor will the Lineage of results be updated.

Local branches you created but never pushed to the origin will not be saved.

Discard autosaved content

If you don’t need the autosaved content, you can easily discard it using the following commands:

$ git reset --hard origin/<branch-name> # remove commits and modified files
$ git clean -f -d # remove untracked files

If you are working on the master branch, the command looks like this:

$ git reset --hard origin/master && git clean -f -d

Keep pushing to the origin

This feature is intended to prevent losing your work but you should not rely on it. Server or network failures can prevent the webhook to trigger, along with a number of other events that could still cause a permanent loss of your non-pushed work. Furthermore, The Renku Knowledge Graph indexing will not be triggered by the autosave function. Therefore, you should still commit your work regularly and push it to the origin.